Need Your Help

Hey my fellow blogging friends! I am just going to come out and ask for it. I wanted to grab a moment of your attention and tell you about something I created.

It’s called Proppitup. It’s like a mashup of Facebook, Twitter and a bunch of other stuff. And you use it to propp up things you think are funny, interesting, unique or whatever else. That’s Proppitup with a big P!

proppinOr you can use a little P, that’s fine too!

proppinfaviconCheck it out

But either way, I wanted to tell you about Proppitup and ask you to go check it out! A couple of you already have which is fantastic.

Here’s the URL to Proppitup: http://www.proppitup.com

Why check it out?

Well, it helps me out! And the more you “click around” the more data I get to play with. It’s all anonymous data, but it does help to see how this thing holds up. If you go so far as to sign-up (which is 100% free), the only thing I can see is your email address. You sign in with a free Google account.

Bonus

Unfortunately, I can’t pay you a bonus because I don’t have any money to even run Proppitup. It runs for free on Google’s massive cloud infrastructure. In fact, Proppitup runs out of resources every day, but when that happens Google gives me a little more to play with @midnight Pacific time for the next day (they take pity on me). Of course, Google must think I’m doing something halfway neat because they re-tweeted my tweet.

Mobile

You can use your smartphone or tablet to browse Proppitup, you don’t have to use a PC if you aren’t in front of one. I’ve built Proppitup with what’s called a “responsive” design. That means it will scale to appropriately fit whatever device you’re using.

Apps

Oh yeah, we have an iPhone app too, you can find it in the AppStore under the same name. Sorry we don’t have Android or Windows yet, but would love to at some point!

Sheesh

Sheesh is right, why did I build Proppitup? I’ll spare you all the technical reasons and details, but I can sum it up by just saying I wanted to build something on Google’s incredibly massive “infrastructure in the sky” and I had to come up with something. Proppitup is what I came up with.

Leave a comment

39 Comments

  1. Wow, you’re really smart! 😉 I’ll go check it out! Remember me when you’re rich and famous, k?

    Reply
    • You are awesome thank you so much! And you wanna hear the funny part? I will remember!!! I already decided if this were to get big (which of course we both know that’s like winning the lottery chances) that I am going to remember the first 100 people that created a free account on Proppitup! Ha! You might be one of those! Thanks again appreciate it, helps me a lot testing out Googles new stuff.

      Reply
      • Well, crud, I got distracted and didn’t do this last night. I’m either getting old or have way too much on my plate. Or both. 🙂 Oh well, I will do it, now! (Really, I am…)

        Reply
  2. I went ahead and created my first proppitup. You’re doing some interesting stuff so happy to try and help anytime. Keep up the good work.

    Reply
  3. Well done. Hope it flies for you. Will go check it out.

    Reply
  4. Is there any other way to use ot besides using a Google vehicle? I really try to stay away from Google the way they try to morph all your personal info into one big file (i.e.youtube, gmail, etc.)

    Reply
  5. mumsthewordintheuk

     /  08/27/2013

    I have checked it out, signed up and propped my husband singing while cooking. I think I will tell my daughter about it as she and her friends are possibly more the target audience you need. But good luck with this.

    Reply
    • Ah, thank you so much! That’s terrific! I just found you on there, appreciate you joining, it certainly helps! (oh and passing the word too, great!)

      Reply
  6. mumsthewordintheuk

     /  08/27/2013

    I have just put your link on Facebook and asked people to share it far and wide. I have a few techy friends on Facebook so lets hope my cool friends latch on in the UK. I am a wannabe geek so will watch your progress with great interest. Good luck!

    Reply
    • Wow, that’s so nice! Thank you!! And here’s the Proppitup FB page, not much on there at the moment. https://www.facebook.com/proppitup

      Reply
    • Oh and by the way, that’s so funny you said “wannabe geek”. I totally understand, it’s fun. Creating Proppitup was so easy that I’m considering trying to document exactly how I did it from the ground up. I love teaching and I’d love to be able to share the knowledge on how someone (technical or non-technical) can go from zero to hero using Google’s new Google Cloud solution, just as I did. I think people think it’s gotta be crazy difficult, but in reality, all it takes is some elbow grease. I mean, programming is hard, that’s why not everyone does it, but Google has taken nearly all the hard out of it. At least, that’s what I think. So if I do ever publish something out there about how to do something on Google’s platform, hopefully it’ll help you and other like minded people out.

      Reply
      • mumsthewordintheuk

         /  08/27/2013

        I teach children code in the most basic way using scratch. We have even written our own text only webpage. While I don’t have all the knowledge, and I learn on the go, I know how important it is to get kids coding. I will look into what you have done and tell the kids about it. I tell them geek is the new cool. I must read up on google cloud stuff now. If you do document it you could use it to educate the next up and coming geek generation : )

        Reply
        • That is terrific, what a great start, please let me know if there’s ever anything I can do to help, that’s a great cause. Yeah, I would love to create a document or something that I can use as a teaching platform to get more kids “coding” if you will. I’ll keep you posted. Google Cloud is an amazing platform for building massively scalable web sites. Proppitup will respond the same for 10 users as it would for 10 million. And it could be a text-only web page or something a bit fancier like Proppitup with icons, colors, images, whatever.

          Reply
  7. Thanks to IAMM3Z (you know, anonymity using IAMM3Z codename is nice sometimes) for joining Proppitup! http://topicspill.wordpress.com/

    Reply
  8. I’ve been perusing Proppitup. It’s like a comedic Pinterest. 🙂

    Reply
    • Hahahaa, yea, totally!! That might be my favorite quote, I need to use that as a testimonial. :> http://www.proppitup.com/#testimonials – you should submit it or something close to it, that’s hilarious!!

      Reply
      • Awesome! I’ll do that right now!

        Reply
        • Sweet! I’ll get it approved and posted soon too then, that’s a good one!!!

          Reply
          • Ok, color me the Proppitup moron; I can’t figure out how to do it….what am I missing?

            Reply
            • Oh no way, no problemo, it’s not exactly popping out, maybe I should fix that…but go to the testimonials, where the carousel is showing different quotes…and just below that there’s a little thumbprint with an envelope icon – click or touch that and it’ll expand a little comment box…let me know if you can’t find it.

              Reply
            • You did it, it’s up already!! Check it out. Thanks a bunch!

              Reply
              • My pleasure! Hope you don’t mind “short and to-the-point”! 🙂

                Reply
                • Not at all, I appreciate you helping – you are the first person to use that feature! I asked for the other testimonials via email…yours was the first “real test” so much appreciated.

                  Reply
  9. mumsthewordintheuk

     /  08/27/2013

    Reblogged this on mumstheword and commented:
    This is only the second re blog I have done but as a wannabe geek I like this. I know my reblogging this won’t cause a viral reaction but I like the concept and the look of it. What do you think?

    Reply
  10. Hey Scott! How cool! I am trying to create an account, but the “Your name” field isn’t allowing me to input anything. Any suggestions? I will persevere!

    Reply
    • Ah!! Crud!! That’s not what I was hoping would happen, I’ll check it out. Curious, what are you using? PC, Smartphone, Tablet, and what browser? Thanks, I’ll check it out, appreciate you trying!! I love your “I will persevere” comment!

      Reply
    • Evelyn! You win, you got me! I can see the error in the error log and sure enough its like you said, the user name coming in is “blank” or missing, causing the error. Ok, that’s bizarre, I am going to have to look into this! I can’t seem to reproduce it. Hence, the most frustrating part of software development – errors that you can’t reproduce. Well, appreciate you letting me know and if for some reason you figure it out or have a hunch let me know. Of course, that said, I would be curious if you can actually register on a smartphone, tablet or another PC. Wondering that would cause you to persevere!!! :>

      Reply

Leave a Reply

