Climbers In The Family

It makes me so happy to have 2 little climbers in the family. Actually, I have 3, my wife likes to climb too.

I don’t know what it is about kids, but they just don’t have any fear.  We were in the Raleigh-Durham-Chapel Hill area so we took them both up to the Triangle Rock Club and they had a blast. Apparently the club is about to undertake a massive renovation adding on a new wing with 50′ walls.  That’d be awesome.

climbers

Circled in orange is the crux of the climb. Tougher than it looks for new climbers, their little fingers were hanging on for dear life. She even barn-doored once and still hung on. My little 6 year old made through the overhang and all the way to the top too. So proud. I think they like the auto-belays more than me doing it, not surprising for kids. They just get to swing out, like it’s a big jungle gym.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Gwen

     /  05/30/2013

    My kids are fortunate enough to attend schools with climbing walls in the gym! As a result they’ve become adept little climbers, just as yours have. One wall features a double overhang, which my 12-year-old can now scale in under a minute. It’s a sport of great strength and athletic skill! The plan for the new wall at your climbing facility sounds awesome.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

