Taylor Swift Concert, Not On The Bucket List

But that’s ok, I sure hope she remembers this. I can now proudly say I went to a Taylor Swift concert.

A few things I learned or observed

1. I kissed a girl and I liked it (my wife). I kissed another girl many times on the top of her head during the concert and hope she didn’t get embarrassed (my daughter).

2. You need ear plugs. There was a lot of screaming.

3. According to my math, there were 11,760 females and only 240 males at the concert, including myself. Of those 11,760 females, 11,524 can scream so loudly that they will shatter your ear drums. As a male, you will oddly feel alone, cold and even frightened, like prey on the open plains when the relationship breakup songs start in (and there’s several apparently). Try to stay under the radar when the screaming starts, you don’t want to become a target.

4. I went to the restroom twice. I was the only one in the men’s restroom each time. It was awesome. At first I thought maybe the restrooms were out of order, but I’m telling you, there were no guys at the concert. Oh yea, you could still hear the screaming.

5. They DO in fact sell beer at a Taylor Swift concert. Who knew? It was on draft, super cold and awesome and worth all $8. I temporarily forgot about the on-going screaming while focused on acquiring the beer in hand.

6. A young hip guy with a cool British accent opened for Taylor Swift. He seemed neat enough, but I couldn’t understand a single word he was saying. 11,524 people around me seemed to have no problem at all. I guess it was just me. He was apparently saying some really cool stuff because the screaming would start up again before he’d get through his first syllable.

7. Women at large seem to think guys actually secretly love Taylor Swift and therefore Taylor Swift concerts. Wrong. Just for the record. There’s too much screaming.

A little sushi before the show!

A little sushi before the show!

Red tour

Red tour

taylor swift

I can’t tell who is who

Leave a comment

44 Comments

  1. Were there also unicorns? Because THEN she’ll be guaranteed not to forget it!

    Reply
  2. LOL love the title! I’m sure my dad felt this way when he took me to a Debbie Gibson concert 🙂

    Reply
  3. Serious daddy points.

    Reply
  4. She won’t forget her dad took her to a Taylor Swift concert. Major points there. I’m thinking they sell beer at Taylor Swift concerts JUST for the dads/husbands/boyfriends who are brave enough to endure the screaming. It’s a scientific fact that beer cures a variety of ailments, including, but not limited to, screaming-induced anxiety.

    Reply
    • Hey Kaela! I think you’re right! Of course, I say that, I was cracking up, there were plenty of women that seemed to have thrown back a few. :> I agree, it seemed to really cure a lot of those ailments. The night was so smooth because I just sat back and chilled out! And I suppose in a not so distant future, you’re one year old will be ready to go.

      Reply
  5. Way to go Dad! proud of you!

    Reply
    • Thanks, sheer joy on her face! btw…your chicken rice soup looks awesome. I just had to take the opportunity to say that real quick.

      Reply
      • HAHA! I’m still eating that chicken soup. It was even better the second day! lol

        Reply
        • Oh yea, I know how that is, I love leftovers the next day when it’s something good like that…sometimes things the next day taste so much better and I have no idea why!

          Reply
  6. YOU’RE A GREAT DAD! (And just so you know I just screamed that to you at the top of my lungs and in a British accent).

    Reply
  7. My Dad took me and my sister and our two best friends to a New Kids On the Block Concert when I was in the 7th grade. Poor guy. We were bawling like babies the whole time….and then we made him listen to the CD on the way home in the car for a 2 hour drive. You are an awesome Dad, and she will remember that and love you all the more for it when she is 35 and has kids of her own. 🙂

    Reply
    • Oh wow, NKOB? Hilarious…you just went public with it!!! Now I don’t feel so bad about it. That is a truly awesome dad there. Nice! Thank you for posting this, that cracked me up.

      Reply
  8. “Alone, cold. + even frightened.” Ha ! Hilarious.
    (I was given some TS to add to my library, b/c the givers’ 2 young teen daughters must have it in THEIR library. I too, survived. Especially the breakup songs. :))
    Photos are darling.

    Reply
  9. Wow.. Hurray for the cool dad! way go to.. (more concerts to watch until she reaches the age 16) 🙂

    Reply
  10. Thank God I have boys, and they want to go to football games! I fortunately happen to love football, so that works out great. But the things we do for our kids because we love them! 🙂

    Reply
    • Hey Kim, yea, you got it made then! I’m trying to convert my kids into wanting to watch golf on tv on the weekends, but you know, that’s painful for kids because it’s so slow.

      Reply
  11. AWWWW THIS IS SO COOL! i really admire you for being a cool dad! your daughter is really blessed to have you. 🙂

    Reply
    • Hey ladyg! :> I appreciate it, you know, it was actually a lot of fun. Poor thing is just not a night owl, we asked her if she was ready to go before the end and she said yea…she bunched up her jacket and laid down in her seat…we knew it was time to go!

      Reply
      • Awww! That’s so cool! Im so happy for you and your wonderful family. 🙂 well, i just wish my dad was like you lol! But he’s already old now. Just enjoying the days I can talk to him hehe 🙂

        Reply
  12. pugeebunnie

     /  03/26/2013

    This was very humorous to read. I especially love the part about feeling like prey on the open plains! I can only imagine any guys there, including you, probably took the brunt of the gals’ emotions in that room – you sensed it – all their anger and bitterness towards the jerks in their life were temporarily transferred to you because you’re male and in the wrong place to be one, haha! 😉

    Reply
    • Yes, I think you totally got the gist of it! That’s exactly right. That many females in one place can be kind of scary! :> I could only just hope that if a riot broke out that there’d be some compassion and in the end it would end peacefully, after all you’re the more compassionate species, I think! :>

      Reply
  13. Wow… very brave (and honorable) of you to take your kid to see Taylor Swift. I’m glad my kid is 8,000 miles away so I wouldn’t have to take him to a hip-hop show. Well, he is old enough to go himself anyway, but I would never do it regardless… even if the place had the best beer on earth.
    Thanks for the follow, man!

    Reply
    • Hey, thank you! That cracked me up! You have an inspiring story of being able to help someone as the long-distance-dad. Kudos to you for really doing something that makes a difference.

      Reply
  14. My first concert was N*Sync. I think you made out better than the parent who took me. 😉 She will remember this and always love you for it!

    Reply
  15. OMG that is so funny and cute. I actually never really thought about whether they had alcohol at Taylor swift concert. was it just beer or were there cocktails as well? Happy holidays.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

