Swedish, Spanish, Swahili, Oh My!

You know, not everyone speaks English.  Even if they do, they may not prefer it as their language of choice.  That, my friends, is exceedingly underwhelming and unhelpful information!  But I hope to change that by the time you’re finished reading this post.2D8RZVKYPRBZ

Going global

I realized I forgot something when I made this online calculator. Just looking at the list of countries that people have used it in, this calculator has gone global. But it’s always displayed in English.

Google to the rescue

So I’ve made it available in various languages and I’ve let our smart friends at Google do the work. If Google recognizes your default language as Spanish, it will automatically render the web site in Spanish. If it recognizes Swahili instead, it will render it in Swahili. You get the idea.

For our friends that speak Greek (I know a few words, enough to be dangerous), here’s an example of what it looks like.

nothing but net worth in greek

(click to zoom) For our friends that speak Greek (I know a few words, enough to be dangerous), here’s an example of what it looks like.

Do it yourself

Got the same problem? Go here and let Google solve this simple internationalization problem for you.  But fear not if you don’t do it as most people that need to translate probably already have a translator plugin installed in their browser of choice anyhow.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Yassou!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

