The Corn Dog, One of Man’s Truly Great Inventions

One of man’s truly great inventions has to be the corn dog.

corn dog

I mean come on, look at the sheer joy on her face!

According to Wikipedia, corn dog is two words, not one.  I grew up thinking it was one word, but now when I smash the words together it looks ridiculous.  And here’s how Wikipedia defines the corn dog:  A corn dog is a hot dog sausage coated in a thick layer of cornmeal batter and deep fried in oil, although some are baked. Almost all corn dogs are served on a wooden stick, though some early versions had no stick.

A corn dog without a stick?  That’s a criminal offense slightly worse than thinking corn dog was one word.

Now in today’s healthy food frenzy world, I realize that a corn dog is a terrible thing.  You could make the breading from whole wheat and not use a real hot dog, but would it taste as good?  If you get a lot of bad looks from the healthy food folks, you can always stick to something else or you can do like I do and say who cares, a third reason it’s good to be a guy.

Maybe ice cream is a good substitute?  They both seem happy here too!

ice cream

Ice cream seems to please too!

P.s.   I don’t intend to offend as I understand there is a dispute on the actual inventor of the corn dog, so perhaps this is woman’s greatest invention.

 

Next Post
Leave a comment

46 Comments

  1. Thanks for reading my blog post concerning the demise of Hostess Brands.

    Reply
  2. Anna Leary

     /  02/25/2013

    These pics are great, Scott!! They made me laugh!

    Reply
    • Anna!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Those are exclamation points of happiness! I was so glad to see your post. You know these turkeys, they need a big Anna hug soon.

      Reply
  3. And don’t forget many people call them “corny dogs.” They smell so good at a fair until I remember hot dogs are whipped pig intestines, mixed with hoof and bum–and then I just go buy a turkey leg instead.

    Reply
    • Ah you’re kidding, corny dogs? That’s funny I had no idea. Considering I’m from the south, I lower my head in shame. By the way, I don’t want to eat another hot dog again! Ugh. 🙂

      Reply
  4. I think we need a disclaimer – this is not how we usually feed our kids! This is what happens when they are home alone with Daddy! (They probably picked out their own outfits too, ha!)

    Reply
  5. Corn Dog is two words?! It’s the single most enticing treat in all of the world!

    Reply
  6. I’ve never had one pass my lips but little one’s seem to love them. And, those wonderful pictures! Great job!

    Reply
    • Thank you and oh wow, you need to get one at some point. Your arteries won’t thank you, but your taste buds will for sure! Thanks for the note, that brought a smile!

      Reply
  7. Yummmm! Gotta love those corn dogs. Can’t eat them anymore, but sure remember how good they are.

    Reply
    • Hey Elizabeth! Thanks for stopping by and I agree, gotta love them. Although I can still eat them, I shouldn’t. By the way, love your thoughts on your blog. Nice work!

      Reply
  8. Another great dad moment! 😉 I think hot dogs are icky. So, I don’t know if I’ve ever eaten a corn dog. I’ve actually tried to get my kids to like them. They do sometimes. Probably the less healthy they are, the more they probably like them? I don’t know.

    Reply
    • Yea, I think you may be onto something there. I’d have to get you to try one out, I think you’d dig ’em. But along the lines of healthy/unhealthy, my son’s stomach “hurt” the other night, he couldn’t eat the spinach and other stuff. But then he heard there was some ice cream in the freezer and magically his stomach didn’t hurt anymore and he was upset we didn’t let him have any. Crazy kids.

      Reply
      • Ugh. My kids complain of their stomach hurting every. freaking. day. Yet, then they ask for candy. Hmmmm.

        Reply
        • I’m dying laughing right now…I’m so glad it’s not unique to us! On that point, I got tired of it this past weekend and said ok, you don’t have to eat it right now, that’s ok, your tummy hurts. So we’ll wrap this chicken pot pie up for breakfast then and you can just eat it in the morning. Oh, that started it then…crying while eating…sheesh.

          Reply
          • hahaha! Be careful though! My brother got fed meatloaf for 3 DAYS by my mother and he is emotionally scarred to this day. Well, that wasn’t the only issue, but I’m just saying….. And did you see my post dinner conversations? It was pretty funny and chicken pot pie related. 🙂

            Reply
  9. “A fun day at the park, laughing together; I’m holding a corn dog on my left and an ice cream cone on the other. When we get home, the day’s excitement will be dead; I’ll be holding a glass of milk on one hand, on the other, a slice of wheat bread.”

    Reply
  10. MJ

     /  02/26/2013

    Oh, man. I love corn dogs even though they are so terrifically bad for you. I can’t remember the last time I ate one.

    Thanks for visiting our blog and glad you liked my Sir Reginald post! 🙂

    Reply
    • Agreed, they are just one of those things, like doughnuts perhaps, so good, but so bad…I liked the “feel” of your blog as soon as I visited, keep it up.

      Reply
  11. Never had a corn dog. I don’t think they are over here, I’ve never seen them anyway. Another reason to relocate!

    Reply
  12. Corndog is one word? My world has been knocked off its axis. Seriously, this post cracked me up! Thanks for brightening my day and for stopping by Being June.

    Reply
    • Hahaha, I’m so glad I could make you laugh, that’s awesome and made my day!!! Same to you…thx for leaving this note.

      Reply
  13. I never allowed myself to eat corn dogs until I met my husband. Wow, you men aren’t kidding, these things are good! Alas, I have put on a few pounds too since meeting him. Lovely post, and pics of your family.

    Reply
    • Oh no Maya, you’ve been taken to the dark side! Well, it’s worth it a couple of times! :> You have a beautiful family, and I imagine your hands are full with twins!

      Reply
  14. i have to say, a corn dog does look like a man’s invention. haha. i’m going to take credit for the female gender on the ice cream, so we’re even. different but both fabulous. thanks for stopping by. nice to meetcha. 🙂

    Reply
    • Hey I like that, good call if I must say so…I haven’t seen anyone split the difference. Each is different, but just as good in its own way. Nice! Well played!

      Reply
  15. A corn dog is horrid! Greasy and slimy with some rubbery thing trying to be a hot dog inside.

    Reply
  16. Sometimes after one of my boys eats a corn dog, I snack on the little bit of breading left on the stick. Yum!
    Thanks for stopping by my blog, Scott! I will be stopping by yours, now that I have found it!

    Reply
    • Oh my gosh Heidi, I had forgotten about that, I love that part. I’m so glad you reminded me of it. That’s quite possibly the best part!!! Oh and thanks for leaving this note, you have such an amazing background. With 4 little boys, I don’t know how you do it.

      Reply
  17. I’ve been to country fairs and city street fairs. I think after eating a fair amount of ‘fair’ food – one needs a fair amount of exercise! T’is yummy though – I like funnel cakes. I used to be able to eat a whole one…now I share.

    Thanks for your visit.

    Reply
    • Oh my gosh, funnel cake, yes! That is another one of those great inventions, maybe even more so than the corn dog. I used to be able to eat a whole funnel cake, but now either can’t or won’t, not sure which. I appreciate you reminding me of that classic treat!

      Reply
  18. My kids hate them and I just want one snapshot of them like this.

    Reply
  19. At the Iowa State Fair they have corn dogs wrapped in bacon… dangerous!!

    Reply
    • Holy cow, wrapped in bacon?!!! That’s insane. That’s taking it to a whole new level. Well, thanks for sharing, I’ll have to tell my daughter, she loves bacon. You’re going to think we eat like complete garbage. :>

      Reply
  20. Love your blog and attitude! Thank you for making me smile when I see you have visited my blog!…Jill

    Reply

Leave a Reply

