Two Reasons It’s Good To Be A Guy

I mean, come on, there’s a bunch of reasons right?  Well, anyhow, here’s two!  I’m sure women everywhere will agree, but it’d be entertaining if some of them gave their opposing views.

Reason 1: If someone asks me to do something I don’t want to do, I say no and I don’t even think about it after I’ve said no.  I don’t wonder if I’ve made the right call.  I don’t lose sleep.  I don’t have anxiety.  I don’t stress over it.

Reason 2: If it’s a daddy weekend and the kids want to dress themselves…well, no problem, go for it kiddos!  Just put on whatever you want.  That’s what I say.  I don’t care what others think, it’s do whatcha like weekend.

thinking

Me thinking. Yes my hair turns into a teepee when it gets too long.

playground

I think she looks quite put together in all hot pink at the playground

Leave a comment

65 Comments

  1. In summary, males make decisions… not necessarily good ones!

    Reply
  2. I can come up with millions of reasons why it is good to be a guy. But I can come up with just as many reasons why I am sometimes embarrassed to be one…

    Reply
  3. That is funny about #2 – my coworker came to work with his kid one day and the little boy was wearing a striped shirt, plaid shorts, and a cape… our coworker didn’t really have to tell us that mom was out of town. 😉

    Reply
  4. Being male is awesome. I agree with all of the above and would like to add freedom in public urination to our list of advantages. Four years of college has definitely helped me appreciate not having to awkwardly squat behind sketchy dumpsters in the back alleys of most liquor establishments.

    Reply
    • This is one of those reasons that everyone will pretty much agree on, even if they don’t feel comfortable saying so publicly.

      Reply
  5. christian adventurer2

     /  02/20/2013

    You’re so not lying, and for the record, IT IS NOT FAIR! LOL. Wait, women get to give birth! Oh right that is painful.

    Not fair! Not fair!

    Girls rule though. Ask your wife she’ll tell you.

    Reply
    • Hahaha, ok, I need to confess, you got me laughing here…well, I’ve heard kidney stones are as painful or worse than child birth. I haven’t had one, but if I do ever, ouch, that is going to hurt. My wife doesn’t seem to really care so much for my argument on child birth.

      Reply
      • christian adventurer2

         /  02/20/2013

        Yea I haven’t had a child yet but I imagine kidney stones aren’t quite as bad. 🙂

        Reply
  6. Totally jealous of reason #1. Thanks for following momsasaurus! I like your style and will be following you too (well, following your blog. Following you would just be creepy).

    Reply
    • Haha, right, well no sweat, lovers of zoos are friends of ours!! :> And right back at ya. My wife is jealous of #1 in a big way. I love someone who admits to it!

      Reply
  7. I second momsasaurus, I need more practice at #1. (Just the saying NO part) ^^

    Reply
  8. Hmm, the “just” made that sentence come out a bit wrong. I don’t disagree with momsasaurus about anything! (oh man, you’re right about women over-thinking things…) ><

    Reply
  9. Number 2 made me literally giggle out loud at my computer screen! You can always tell when daddy gets our twin boys dressed…. and usually I’m right behind him having them change! Thanks for the giggle rough day at the office totally needed this and thanks for the follow!

    Reply
    • Awesome, I love it! Just thinking of you doing that cracks me up! And are you kidding, you’re pinningness (if that’s a word) is awesome!

      Reply
    • Once again, I’m just loving the fact that I made someone giggle…hilarious. Why? Because that’s what I do when I read other people’s stuff, it’s just often very funny and sometimes I’ll laugh out loud and then look around just in caes I have to explain myself to someone that’s wondering why I’m laughing out loud.

      Reply
    • Oh and by the way, twin boys, wow!!

      Reply
  10. Because of the nature of my job at EA is based around mostly Facebook/Social Media my family is used to mommy having conversations and interacting with her computer/laptop/iPhone or iPad. I no longer need to explain myself or no longer receive strange looks from them just occasional sideways looks from my dogs!

    Reply
    • Oh yes, that’s great. I’m sure at first, that was the case, but I hear ya. Sadly, we’ve gotten to use to both my wife and I always plugging away! By the way, is that EA, the games company? If so, very cool.

      Reply
      • Yes it is 🙂 My kids go to school telling everyone mommy plays video games all day… I wish that was the case, funny though how children perceive things.

        Reply
        • Haha, that’s hilarious, I totally get it. I’m sure there could be a whole blog about how kids perceive things incorrectly…probably already is one!

          Reply
  11. The father figure really requires both the firm side and soft side.

    Reply
  12. Love it! I wish someone told me about #1 earlier. I wouldn’t have wasted years trying to deal with the guilt thing had I known it was a lost battle 🙂

    Reply
  13. Gwen

     /  02/21/2013

    Hey Scott – love your blog and this post. I can’t argue with either reason you give above! Thanks for the follow!

    Reply
    • Hey Gwen, I’m so glad! It’s good to at least have a couple of things we can claim we rock at! :> Oh and I still love a good ol’ fashioned book I can hold in my hands too – best of luck with your publishing goals.

      Reply
  14. That outfit. There are no words. Looks exactly like something my kids would wear when dad is in charge. He somehow manages to find the rattiest, stained, outgrown clothes to put on them when there is a plethora of cute outfits hanging in their closet!! It kills me every time. I wish I didn’t care so much! Thx for the follow.

    Reply
  15. So True!! I wish I had those magic powers! 🙂

    Reply
  16. I have two responses:
    #1 – Difficulty saying no and the resultant anxiety isn’t gender specific.
    #2 – Regarding your second point, you’ve been my idol all my life.

    Reply
  17. Awesome thoughts, haha. Being a guy is great.

    Reply
  18. I really do wish I could simply say no a lot more often; and that in doing so, I didn’t drive myself batty with worrying about!

    Reply
  19. Thanks for stopping in and signing up!

    Reply
  20. Michele

     /  02/25/2013

    Sound advice, though I’m not sure it’s malely exclusive. Yes, I just made that word up. I let my kids wear whatever they want and make their own decisions for a lot of things because I want them to be independent individuals.

    Reply
    • Hey Michele, I love making up words, so you’re in good company! Yes, I agree, we do strive for them to be independent. Sadly, I think it’s going to be an even tougher world out there when they get to be my age. Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply
  21. Oh, my gosh – #1 hits home! I’ve been trying to learn to say “No” for years now and am still pretty bumbling at it. But my daughter is a master at it. She doesn’t even have to open her mouth – she has this look that says it all.

    Reply
    • I got a real good chuckle on this one! I know exactly what you mean. Mine do that too. I wonder why that wears off? Maybe it wouldn’t work in the “real world,” at least the way our kids do it! :>

      Reply
  22. I can think of a few more, especially if you live in Saudi Arabia…

    Reply
    • Yea, that’s probably true! Thanks for leaving this note. You have a beautiful family…best of luck with your future travels once the kids scoot on out of the house!

      Reply
  23. My husband does this I just let it happen and step away

    Reply
  24. “Why can’t a woman be more like a man?”. Check out the awesome monologues in My Fair Lady. In a way I wish I could have the guilt free mind you take for granted. I guess thats why without each out we’d be half a mind! lol.

    Reply
  1. The Corn Dog, One of Man’s Truly Great Inventions | about ss
  2. One Reason It Is Great To Be Married | about ss
  3. It Is Wear Whatchalike On Daddy Weekend | about ss

Leave a Reply

