Make It Easy To Find Your Blog

There is something you can do in just a few minutes to make it easy for other people to find your blog.  I’m talking about updating your public gravatar profile!  When you hover over someone’s gravatar profile picture on various blogs (instead of immediately clicking on the picture), a gravatar profile snapshot usually pops up.  It might look somewhat similar to mine pictured here.

scottsappenfieldgravatar1

If someone clicks on your gravatar profile picture or the link titled “View Complete Profile,” they will be taken to your public gravatar profile.  Therein lies the problem for some of you.  Your public gravatar profile doesn’t include any links to your actual blog.  The end result is that someone may close your public gravatar profile page without actually going to your blog.  So I thought I’d describe to you the solution in the hopes it helps someone else out too!

Again, one more time, the problem is pretty straightforward, when someone views your public gravatar profile, they get to see by default your name, your photo and perhaps a bit of textual information you have provided about yourself.  However, there’s no way for them to connect to your blog from this page.  Fortunately, the fix is simple, you’re going to take a few minutes to enhance your public gravatar profile page.

Enhance your public gravatar profile page

In the upper right-hand corner, click on My Account and then click on Edit My Profile (as shown below, if any of the pictures are a touch fuzzy, you can click to zoom in on them).

scottsappenfieldgravatar2

Next, click on Verified Services on the left-hand navigation menu (as shown below).  Use the dropdown box and the Add… button to add in services that you want to show up in your public gravatar profile page.

scottsappenfieldgravatar3

Once you are through with adding various verified services, click on My Links just underneath Verified Services.  Here you can add additional URLs to various other web sites you want displayed when people view your public gravatar profile page.  I won’t go into explaining what a verified service is versus a link, but it is pretty straightforward once you play around with it.

scottsappenfieldgravatar4

Once you’re done, your profile page will be enhanced with links that your visitors can click on to view the services and web sites you want them to check out!  For instance, if you look at mine, I have links available to a couple of things.

scottsappenfieldgravatar5

So hopefully this was helpful for those of you that needed to do this, but weren’t sure why or how.  If so, like the post or let me know somehow.  Even if you knew all this, but like the idea of the blogger community sharing tidbits of information along the way to help others out, like it as well.  I’ll get a sense as to whether or not sharing little nuggets like this are helpful.

Let me know if  you have any questions.

Leave a comment

70 Comments

  1. Hi Scott! That was really helpful. My blog was linked…but I didn’t have a short description..so I added one. Thanks very much! ~Sherry~

    p.s. You have a lovely family!

    Reply
    • Hey Sherry, thank you so much, I’m definitely lucky, they are awesome! And thanks for letting me know it was helpful, that’s terrific. I love your site and all your photography! Have a good one!

      Reply
  2. Awesome blog. I love your photography as well. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  3. The more people that know this the better!! It’s a shame when you can’t get to someones blog that way, it just makes things difficult!

    Reply
    • Hey Adele! Great, I totally agree, I hate it when I can’t get to someone’s blog. I usually end up taking their handle, googling it with “wordpress ” and somehow try to find it. But if it’s too much trouble, I don’t worry about it. Thanks for letting me know you like this tip, I am glad to know.

      Reply
      • Hi, Scott!

        That is the current problem I am facing with my new blog: I have to type in mapsysworld@wordpress.com to get to my page. I have actually asked my hubby to do that and everytime I ask (or force) him to read a post, he always asks me the exact address.

        Will try your tips. Will just have to plan the content for each section.

        Thanks for dropping by my blog!

        Reply
  4. This was very helpful! I just went and did this now following your instructions. And so funny, I think we just about clicked the “follow” button on each others blogs at the same time!
    I’m looking forward to more great reads and tips from your site 🙂

    Reply
  5. I have always thought the whole Gravatar thing was a waste of time – turns out it IS useful! Thanks for the info, I never would have thought to make any of these profile changes 🙂

    Reply
    • Oh my gosh, that is so great to hear! I completely understand what you mean. It’s purpose is never really put out there for you to digest quickly. Anyhow, glad you found it useful, thanks for letting me know. It’s great to hear actually, otherwise, I wouldn’t really know. Keep up the great recipes!

      Reply
  6. Hi Scott, Thanks for the helpful info! And for liking my blog today.

    Reply
  7. Thanks I’ll give it a try. Always wanted to know why my blog wasn’t in the Gravatar box.

    Reply
    • Great, yes, please do! You know, isn’t that the truth. It definitely isn’t really made clear. Glad you’re going to try it out. Great to hear from you!

      Reply
  8. Been wondering about all that. Have to mess with it at library or elsewhere. Great info, thanks. I need somebody like you ! There may be many more questions.
    D.

    Reply
    • Hahaha, trust me, I know what you mean! Don’t worry about it, they didn’t exactly make it very straightforward unfortunately. Well, I’ll be your virtual assistant where I can, so don’t hesitate! :>

      Reply
  9. Thanks for the tip, and for dropping by my blog!

    Nia

    Reply
  10. Extremely helpful post! Thanks so much

    Reply
    • Awesome, I’m so glad you thought it was helpful, that’s great to hear. Appreciate it. It’s good to know when little tidbits like this are useful esp. when they help everyone in the WP community out.

      Reply
  11. FABULOUS advice!

    Reply
  12. Will have to stay by my laptop all day. Had no link on my gravatar. They’ll be flocking to me now!! Seriously this was simple effective advice. Great for a beginner like me. “Go raibh mile maith agat” ( “a thousand thanks” in irish).

    Reply
    • Nice, in Irish! I’m part Irish! I suspect a lot of people can say that though, so I guess nothing unique there. Anyhow, glad you liked the pointer, your reply was cracking me up!! :>

      Reply
  13. Thanks Scott for the above inputs..will surely incorporate…helps people like me who are testing waters… Thanks for liking my blog earlier … Keep posting 🙂

    Reply
    • Hey, you are so welcome! Thanks for letting me know it was useful. Same to you and best of luck on the journey with your blog.

      Reply
  14. Hi, Scott!

    That is the current problem I am facing with my new blog: I have to type in mapsysworld@wordpress.com to get to my page. I have actually asked my hubby to do that and everytime I ask (or force) him to read a post, he always asks me the exact address.

    Will try your tips. Will just have to plan the content for each section.

    Thanks for dropping by my blog!

    Reply
    • Hey Maps!! Or Nin! I like both. But yea, definitely try it out. I see what you are saying…your gravatar public profile doesn’t link to your blog. If I google “mapsy815 wordpress” then it comes up fine as the first link and I can get to it. However, as you know, that’s not what you want. So give it a try and I think it’ll be easier to find your blog.

      Thanks for letting me know!

      Reply
  15. Really appreciated this tip (and the cinnamon toast actually). Many thanks, Nicola

    Reply
  16. really helpful and I just implemented the suggestion for adding the blog URL ..thanks for sharing Scott…

    Reply
    • That is great, thanks for letting me know too! You have an awesome blog that’s fun to read so I’m glad you did that so others can easily find it.

      Reply
  17. Thanks for the tip Scott. I had no idea!

    Reply
  18. Amen! I get so frustrated when I click on someone’s gravatar and there’s no link to their blog. Thanks for dropping by my site. I’ve enjoyed several of your articles already, particularly the “wasabi” one. I read the whole thing, even though I don’t keep my own stats. Cheers!

    Reply
    • Hey, I hear ya, it’s a real shame because we end up missing people’s blog that might otherwise be interesting to read! And I’m glad you liked the wasabi humor, something you (as a part-time dba) will appreciate. I love your blog by the way, nice theme, nice layout, easy on the eyes and packed with great posts.

      Reply
  19. I’ve decided to ramp up my blogging and I need to do so much! Thanks for liking my latest post and for sharing the Gravatar info – points me in a strong direction!

    Reply
    • Hey that’s great news! Yes, please do update your gravatar profile, that will really help all of us tremendously. Best of luck!

      Reply
  20. Thanks for following my blog. I finally had time to get on your blog and am loving it! Your blog reminds me of going to Target (seriously this is a good thing when you know my obsession with this store), you have a ton of great stuff on here and some super informational nuggets. And you made me laugh…a lot! Looking forward to the updates!

    Reply
    • Right back at ya, seriously, same to you! Oh and I’m glad I am not the one who actually does our bills. My wife seems to like it because she knows it is in “order” so to speak. I guess my point is that the Target bill is always high, but it’s always super useful stuff so, oh well. Thanks for leaving this note, it was so nice to get!!! I just got over a case of the flu and this was terrific to read.

      Reply
  21. This was very helpful. Thank you.

    Reply
    • Awesome, I’m glad you found it useful. It’s amazing to me how they don’t really make it very clear for everyone. Glad I posted this out there, it’s helped a bunch out!

      Reply
  22. Thanks Scott. I’m make sure my Gravatar is doing all it can for me. I also have a website/blog about sharing memories, http://www.TreasureChestofMemories.com. I look forward to reading more of your posts.

    Reply
  23. Thank you – nice to have a dad on board.
    You may also enjoy my other blog?

    http://finkingfoughts.wordpress.com/2011/07/22/thoughts-on-thoughts/

    Reply
  24. Hi Scott. You have a ton of info that’s very helpful to me…particularly this one. Thanks for sharing the info and I will update my profile info. Looking forward to reading more of your posts.

    Reply
  25. HI Scott, thanks for this great info, I look forwrd to benefiting form your knowlege(like this) and the update on unicorns status 🙂 hope you enjoy vsvevg, paz, Abby

    Reply
  26. Hi Scott, I found this post really useful and implemented the advice straight away. It can be disheartening to start out blogging and realise you are (almost) shouting into the wilderness. Thanks for stopping by my site! Clare

    Reply
    • Hey Clare! You know, I totally know what you mean. You live in some cool places, best of luck with writing too! I see you’re on twitter, so I connected with you there. Talk soon, have a good one.

      Reply
  27. Hi, thanks for liking my recent post, and thanks for useful information here:-)

    Reply
  28. I just followed your directions, Scott to add a link to my blog to my gravatar profile. Thanks. I am a Neanderthal when it comes to computers, so I appreciate the heads-up about something that might be obvious to others with more skills and experience!

    Reply
    • Hey Lea!

      I can’t thank you enough for leaving this message. This post has been overwhelmingly popular, I had no idea when I first published it, but I’m so grateful that it has been. It seems to really be helping everyone out, myself included, because I can find other people’s blogs so much quicker.

      Anyhow, thanks again, take care!

      Scott

      Reply
  29. Thank you so much! Going to go and add a link and what not right now 🙂

    Reply
  30. Great tip, Scott! I was already in compliance, but actually taking the time to educate others in the blogosphere as to how to, was more than helpful and nice of you to do. Will enjoy more of your well put together blog. Thanks for the like, too, on “The Absent Father” (http://bobskelley.com/2013/06/16/the-absent-father/) Cheers! ~Bob

    Reply
    • Hey Bob, keep up the great writing yourself…and thx for letting me know by dropping this note, I am so glad to know it’s been helpful…like you said, you’re in compliance, but if I can help others out, great. It feels good to get positive feedback from you and others that the free education on this kind of thing is worth it and meaningful. Thx again!

      Reply
  31. Thanks so much for sharing that! So helpful!

    Reply
    • Awesome, I’m so glad it’s helpful! I am actually so glad to get the feedback too – it’s been wonderful to know it’s helped out a lot of my fellow blogger friends, thanks again for letting me know!

      Reply
  1. Make Money From Your Blog | about ss

Leave a Reply

