I Was Insane, Not Indifferent, Not Ignorant

Wow, that’s a lot of big I words, I know, but I was truly insane!  Let me clarify, I wasn’t in a mental institution, but if Alan Greenspan was the doc I probably could have been.

When I graduated from college, I was spending a decent amount of money because I had a decent amount of money coming in.  I was going out all the time.  I was eating out all the time.  I was playing golf here, playing golf there, playing golf everywhere and golf ain’t cheap.  I drove a really fast car that got me pulled over doing twice the speed limit (ahem, it was Atlanta, go easy, if you live there you know how the left most lane is).  That was an expensive bogey.  I was spending way more money than I should have been spending and I knew better.

In short, I was financially insane and I needed to get it out of my system.  So I did and I moved up from the red into the green, but it took some doing.

nothingbutnetworth.com

How did I do it?  It wasn’t rocket science.  I just began getting smarter about my finances.  I sold the car which oddly enough is probably the only car I’ve ever sold and made money on (German engineering seems to hold its value well).  I did a bunch of other smaller things too.  Today however, I rely on my wonderful wife that manages our budget for us.

When someone asks me “how do you do a budget?,” I simply say I don’t, my wife does, but I’m glad she does because it’s a savior.  Actually, we have worked together to refine it over the years, something I explain here.  I also provide a small explanation of insane vs ignorant in this context so I can make myself feel better, um, well, at least, I think insane is better than ignorant.

 

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. christy

     /  02/18/2013

    Oops. I think I was partly responsible for your infraction !! I should have paid for your fine!

    Reply
    • Hahaha, right, remember that? That’s hilarious…well, the damage was a $400 ticket, about another $900 in legal fees, 3 year speeding probation (couldn’t exceed 5 miles over). You know, all the routine stuff, no biggie. :>

      Reply
  2. I prefer to think of speed limits in Atlanta as a guideline…

    Reply
    • Hahaha, yes, I agree. You know what I’m talking about obviously!! I need to add, I put no other persons in danger with excessive speed aside from me and my adrenaline junkie passenger (ahem, christy, posted above)! :>

      Reply
      • christy

         /  02/20/2013

        And it was to get me to the Georgia vs Georgia Tech game! It would have been understandable if it was Clemson vs SC after all….!!

        Reply
  3. good post ..thanks for visiting my post 🙂

    Reply
  4. Thanks for letting me camp out in your blog for a little while today. I had a great time and tried to leave my campsite as good as when I arrived. I’ll be back in a couple of weeks!

    Reply
    • Hey Russel, great to have you here! That’s my treat…and for the record, I can’t walk past the sea lions either, they get me every time. :>

      Reply

Leave a Reply

