Is School Failing My Son?

My wife sent me this article and asked me to read it when I had time.  I couldn’t wait until tomorrow once she gave me a quick taste of the content.  It’s a good read and like so many good reads, surely controversial.  Check it out when you get a chance.

It resonated with me.  So I shared it.

KIds and the lovely dog Nea

KIds and the lovely dog Nea (they did this, not us, for the record :>)

The fact is that my little girl can sit for hours upon hours upon hours upon hours upon hours (not kidding) and read, do homework, study, whatever.  It’s crazy.  She’s so focused.  We have to get her to “chill out.”  And when we do, she’s a blast, she has as much fun as any kid.  I love it.  But she has the amazing ability to focus too.

My son on the other hand just can’t sit still.  He has so much little boy energy and I love it.  He wants to go play at the fountain, kick the soccer ball, blow bubbles, run around, be crazy.  But when it’s homework time, he can do one problem and then has to get up and show mommy his new crazy dance move.  Then sit down, do one more.  Then get back up and jump around.  She has to make him sit down.

And what happens at school when a child talks too much, moves around in their chair too much, makes crazy looking faces to friends?  The penalty at ours is to miss recess.  Sheesh, that’s the one thing he needs.  Sure, he likes it.  So it makes sense, that’s a reasonable punishment (ahem, consequence, I mean, that’s what it’s called).  However, he needs it.  Let me say that again.  Little boys, on average, have a ton of energy they need to get out.  So skipping recess and being confined to a desk seems counter intuitive to me.  It’s only happened once (we have really good kids, thankfully), but I hope it won’t be a trend.

Regardless, the common theme here, I love it.  I love them.  I love my little nucleus here.  I don’t care if they are crazy!

 

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. toemailer

     /  01/14/2013

    We would love to post that picture at toemail if you do not mind? Just need the location and we are good to go! http://toemail.wordpress.com

    Reply
  2. As a wise teacher told me once “Maybe he just has a case of B-O-Y.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

