My Cinnamon Toast

I almost hesitate to post this because my healthy eating friends will likely object.  Anyhow, here it is, my amazing cinnamon toast recipe, slightly altered and passed down from generations (probably just 1 generation now that I think about it).  Now that I’m typing this out, I should rephrase it as my amazing & relatively healthy cinnamon toast because I use whole wheat bread.

Ah, and I must add that if you don’t like whole wheat bread, cinnamon, sugar or butter, turn away.

What we call this delicatessen in our house and for the remainder of this post is actually ctoast! An amazingly unoriginal and short name for cinnamon toast.

Wet your appetite (everyone likes a photo)

scott sappenfield's cinnamon toastThis is a beautiful site (not this web site, this site is the plainest personal site in existence, but the picture of the ctoast floating over there on the right).  A picture of my famous ctoast fresh out from on broil.  Click on it to get a close up snap of this beauty.  If that doesn’t wet your appetite, I don’t know what will.  If you’re still with me, continue on for the finer details on how to make this yourself.

I’ll give you the details on how to make two glorious pieces of ctoast.  Just alter as needed.  Oh and if this is too difficult for you to make, well, you’re worse off than me (cooking wise) and I’m very sorry for your condition.

The recipe (only 4 things needed)

2 pieces of whole wheat bread; remember, the whole wheat is what makes this relatively healthy

8 small square slices of butter for each piece of bread (just cut off a thin square with a butter knife)

Cinnamon

Sugar

The instructions (less than 15 minutes to make)

  1. Turn the oven on broil and let it heat up.
  2. Put two pieces of bread on a cookie sheet.
  3. Put one of the thin slices of butter in each corner of the bread, off the edge just a bit.
  4. Sprinkle some sugar over the bread, enough to where it doesn’t saturate the bread, but covers the butter fairly well.
  5. Sprinkle some cinnamon over the bread, again where it doesn’t overtake the sugar or anything, but enough to be tasty.
  6. Broil it until the bread becomes toast.  Take it out of the oven when the cinnamon and sugar start to bubble up and the toast is golden browned.

That’s it!

Expert advice

You’ll need to get some practice under your belt in order to perfect this recipe.  But soon you’ll be like me where you can just smell it from a distance and know when the time is right to pull it from the oven.  Also, don’t do like some people I know and try to cheat with a cinnamon and sugar mix.  Just do each at a time.  The cinnamon needs to lay on top.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Not sure what broil is – we don’t do that in the UK – but I realise I haven’t had cinnamon toast for eons. Must make it for tea tomorrow. Nicola http://homemadekids.wordpress.com

    Reply
    • Hahaha, nice, I love it, have some with tea!! Perfect. What a combination. I in fact, would be one that loves it. Oh and broil is kind of like half of bake, just gets the top of things in the oven. Thanks for leaving the note!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

