Break It Down, 5 Tips For Writing An eBook

youbuildawebsite.appspot.com

I’m very glad my eBooks/eGuides/(whatever you call them) are selling! I wrote 3 different Guides in the month of December and put them up for sale as soon as they were proofed.

My website where I sell them: http://youbuildawebsite.appspot.com

Now I’m getting questions about how I did it. Not the “how did you come up with the content” questions, but how did I actually make myself do it. Here’s how.

Tip #1

If you are working full-time during the business-day, sacrifice your nights and weekends. I did. I was working as a “freelancer,” so I didn’t have a typical 9-5 job, but if you’ve done freelance, you can identify with the fact that you’re still just as slammed. I was working all day on projects. So I had to write during the off-times. Yeah, that stinks, but that’s the way it is.

Tip #2

Find a proofer. In my case, it was my wonderfully patient, extremely intelligent, beautiful wife. If you aren’t so fortunate to have such, then hire it out. You can find someone that balances your sense of individualism and personality while also fixing all your run-ons and grammatical errors. I know I had a ton. I didn’t get this blog post proofed so I probably have errors in here.

Tip #3

Enjoy writing. Like me. If you don’t, hmmm, you’re going to be in for a world of hurt.

Tip #4

Break it down. I knew I wanted to write a Guide on how to create  a website because I get that question all the time. It helps that I actually know how to do that really well too. But there are a ton of different ways to do it so I found myself struggling with how to present it. After some thought, I figured it out.

Beginner Guide – for non-technical people just getting started, maybe an online store

Intermediate Guide – for non-technical people wanting to build something more flexible, like a powerful blog

Advanced Guide – for highly technical people wanting to do something fun and different

Then, inside each guide, I broke it down into Chapters. I didn’t start writing until I had some sense of an idea on how it was going to flow.

Tip #5

Just start writing. After you’ve got an idea of what you want to write about and how it’s going to be structured, just start writing. It doesn’t have to be perfect. Just get going. Once you start writing, I think you’ll find that it starts to flow pretty easily.

I’d be curious as to what strategy you employed. Best of luck and tell me about your eBook/eGuide (whatever you call them) when you’re done.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Congrats on the sales! And for just getting the done! That’s quite an undertaking. I’ll have to go check them out. Where do I find them?

    Reply
  2. How did you get so lucky in the wife department??

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 682 other followers

