Qua, say what?

In the capacity or character of

That’s what! Very nice. But I still don’t fully understand when it would be appropriate to use the word qua in conversation (and not sound like a know it all). I did look up examples at one point or another, but didn’t care enough to put it to memory. I just know it’s a crazy Q word I can use in Scrabble any time I want because I know qua!!

And guess what “brooha” – I got this snippet below from a Men’s Health magazine. Watch out, I’m going to run the table next time.

winatscrabble

Leave a comment

39 Comments

  1. Ha! This is why I can’t hang playing Scrabble with y’all – I don’t know all of the crazy Q words!

    Reply
  2. I have this friend who tries to use all these words when we play boggle. And I’m all “dude, this is Boggle. You don’t get extra points for using Q, and no one cares about your stupid Scrabble words. I don’t even like you.”

    Reply
    • Boggle, I’m gonna have to check that out, but that is freaking hilarious…love it. I love your ending comment to him!

      Reply
  3. christy

     /  07/04/2013

    Doh! You’re reading up on strategy, I see….WELL…., I might reconsider my still unclaimed invitation to join the elderly DC Scrabble club!
    http://www.dcsclub.org/
    OK, so, they are the only game in town… but just look at them! They are entranced. Much like Mr. Miyagi to Danielson, surely someone there will tale me on as an apprentice?
    Soon enough, brooha, I’ll be able to knit you a hankerchief to hold your tears when I take your King

    Reply
    • What?!!! Come on, DC scrabble club? Hahahaha, hilarious…you said Danielson, that reminds me of the phase in life where I looked like the karate kid. They have the worst looking web site ever, I think I need to rebuild that for them for free. They should have a mad eye popping web site for that kind of organization.

      Reply
  4. christy

     /  07/04/2013

    Hmmm. Wonder what else I’ll learn from these scrabble masters with members on their roster like this one: Zobo the ChimpManager of a local waterpark. Earned his pilots license in 2004. Enjoys scuba diving, karaoke and monster truck rallies.

    Reply
    • Yea, probably a lot, you’re doing your background homework checks which will count for a lot…you’ll make the best decision possible when getting mentored by one of these guys. I’m joining a Pyongyang scrabble club soon, my only concern is they meet at prison camp 12 on Wednesdays. It’s not the location that concerns me, but Wednesdays are tough for me.

      Reply
  5. I can kick some scrabble ass! The letter q is such a quirky little letter and usually forms quirky words, that unless someone such as myself looks them up, I have no freaking idea what they mean lol

    Reply
    • Absolutely! And you just used quirky, I need to remember that, I probably had those letters and never put it together…appreciate the tip, see you helped a fellow blogger out and didn’t even mean to, you rock!

      Reply
      • christy

         /  07/04/2013

        Hi guys! I just had a tasty quince ! Can anyone top that?

        Reply
      • Lol glad to help!!! Ah yes. The word quirky. It’s an actual word in the scrabble dictionary so be sure to bust that out next time you play. Your competitors will be amazed at your vocabulary prowess :)

        Reply
  6. You can’t use “brooha” if you spell it that way, dude. It’s “brouha.” Or, more correctly, “brouhaha.”

    Reply
  7. pugeebunnie

     /  07/05/2013

    Love this post! My mom and I are Scrabble addicts and we’ve learned how to manipulate the game to win (for example, by using ridiculous words like “Qua”!). However, we’ve had a long-running joke that Scrabble, although you THINK it encourages creative vocabulary, it really rewards the person that puts down goofy things like “Qua” or adds an “S” to something like “Queens” instead. My husband, who will admit his vocabulary is more limited than mine, always beats me because he pulls that crap constantly! ;)

    Reply
    • Oh my gosh, hahahaha, that is freaking hilarious, I love it – because it is so me! I am not nearly as smart as my wife, but on Scrabble I always win – because I’m just like your husband. Awesome, thanks for posting, that is spot on and hilarious!

      Reply
      • pugeebunnie

         /  07/05/2013

        You’re welcome. My husband will love to hear of this also – that tere’s more of him out there, ha ha!

        Reply
        • I wonder if he relishes every 6 months or so when he’s right about something too, like I do. We have a little party because I’m actually right about something!

          Reply
          • pugeebunnie

             /  07/06/2013

            Spell check – “there’s” – my bad. Well, no, he doesn’t because he’s like the chick in the situation, I think. He THINKS he always right, lol.

            Reply
  8. I love Scrabble, but no one likes to play with me (I win a lot). I do have a few friends that will play Words With Friends, though.
    I’m a word person, but I’m not sure I even fully understand the definition of qua (at least not as defined on dicitonary.com, and I don’t feel like getting up to go get my real dictionary!). I thought I’d cleverly insert “qua” into this comment, but that didn’t really work out so I’ll just insert it by saying I’ll probably NEVER use the word “qua” in sentence without sounding like a know-it-all, or just an idiot for that matter! :o)

    Reply
    • Ok the challenge is on, don’t be alarmed if I’m passing through one day and I show up with a scrabble board for a quick 15 minute game. I’ll destroy you and then move on!! :>

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 686 other followers

